Interview

“I think it’s good that the experiences of completely different athletes find their way into NiceOne’s product development.”

Hi Caja. Please shortly explain to us what exactly is meant by freeskiing.
Freeskiing divides into two parts: freeriding and slope style. Freeriding means backcountry skiing, off-piste skiing in deep powder snow. The very wide skis that can increasingly be seen in the skiing regions over here as well are used for this. In slopestyle, you ride in parks over kickers and other obstacles like rails, for example. Or in a halfpipe. There you use a ski that is less wide but still bent up at its nose and tail.

Which one do you enjoy more?
I enjoy both! When it has snowed extremely, I ride off-piste on my fat skis. On days without fresh snow I go riding in the park. I addition, I try to go on a longer journey every season. Of course, I`ll be riding powder snow then as well. Like last year, for instance, when we were in Kashmir in India. To me it is essential to be able to be as creative as possible in skiing, and in doing so, backcountry and powder skiing are just as important to me as park.

How was your trip to India?
I was in the Kashmir region, the northernmost part of India at the Pakistani border, with Lena Stoffel. It was a girls-only film and photo trip with the intention to ride the region’s longest powder slopes. We had a really unforgettable time there: We were heliskiing in the Himalaya, fed wild monkeys in the snow, met countless border soldiers, lived on a houseboat, poked around the markets of Delhi and got to know many interesting people. (Editor’s note: A link to the movie “A Journey to India” by Felix Urbauer can be found in Caja’s portrait).

Freeriding constitutes only part of your winter. Explain to us how a slopestyle contest usually goes.
You ride a line with several obstacles through a snow park. The jury judges your jumps by difficulty and execution and awards points. Whoever gets the most points makes it to the next round, until eventually the best riders compete in the final.

What does your preparation for the winter season look like?
I do a lot of sports year-round and accordingly I have a good general fitness. When winter is over, I immediately think of other kinds of sports that I like doing. For example hiking and bicycling. Additionally, I attend strength training at the sports school Puch in Fürstenfeldbruck. There I get a training schedule that is specifically designed to meet my requirements and consists of a combination of strength and fitness training.

And in addition you ride horses.
Sadly, I am currently not riding. Riding horses has long been my passion. I used to participate in contests and had my own horse. But unfortunately the sport is very time-consuming as you have to take great care of your horse. Therefore I don`t ride at all at the moment, but I think about buying a foal so that I can resume riding in two or three years.

Which contests will be your highlights for the coming season?
Definitely the Nine Queens Invitational in Serfaus in March. And I will certainly go on a longer trip with my girlfriends once again to shoot some photos and film. Not as far away as last winter, though. We`ll stay in Europe.

You have been part of the NiceOne team for half a year now. What are your experiences so far?
I first got in touch with NiceOne via Andi Wittman and was immediately pretty skeptical and even sneered at him for taking it . But then I nevertheless got curious, informed myself about it and realized that it is just the right thing for me, especially in combination with my strength, fitness and ski training. I also like that NiceOne is committed to more than one sport. I think it’s good that the experiences of completely different athletes find their way into NiceOne’s product development.

Portrait


Freeride Ski

Caja Schöpf

Age
26

 

Home town
Ohlstadt/Bavaria, Innsbruck/Tirol

 

Home spots
Garmisch, Mayrhofen, Ehrwald, Hintertux

 

Favorite trick
Unnatural 3

 

Other sports
Biking, running, hiking and (hopefully again soon) horse riding

 

Current goals
Olympic Winter Games 2014, Sotschi

 

Sponsors
Fiat Freestyle Team, Peak Performance, Völkl, TSG Protection, Oakley Eyewear, Dakine, Dalbello, Marker Bindings, Contour, NiceOne

 

A Journey to India (Video by Felix Urbauer)
http://bit.ly/nKINpp

 

Facebook
http://on.fb.me/swEXXM

 

Blog
http://bit.ly/uBN0pF

 
 
 

shopping cart

No items in your shopping cart

Checkout

Interview

„Ich finde es gut, dass bei NiceOne die Erfahrungen ganz unterschiedlicher Sportler in die Entwicklung der Produkte einfließen.“

Hi Caja, erkläre doch mal kurz, was man unter Freeski genau versteht.
Freeski teilt sich in zwei Bereiche: Freeriden und Slopestyle. Mit Freeriden bezeichnet man das Fahren im Gelände, also im Tiefschnee abseits der präparierten Pisten. Da kommen die ganz breiten Skier zum Einsatz, die man seit ein paar Jahren auch bei uns in den Skigebieten zunehmend sieht. Beim Slopestyle fährt man in Parks über Kicker und andere Obstacles, wie zum Beispiel Rails. Oder in der Halfpipe. Dort nimmt man dann einen weniger breiten Ski, der aber auch vorne und hinten aufgebogen ist.

Was macht dir mehr Spaß?
Beides macht viel Spaß. Wenn es extrem geschneit hat, bin ich abseits mit meinen fetten Latten unterwegs. Und an Tagen ohne Neuschnee im Funpark. Darüber hinaus versuche ich jede Saison eine weitere Reise zu unternehmen. Da geht es dann natürlich auch in den Tiefschnee. So wie zum Beispiel letztes Jahr, als wir in Indien in Kaschmir waren. Für mich ist es unverzichtbar, dass ich beim Skifahren möglichst kreativ sein kann. Gelände und Powder sind dabei genauso wichtig wie der Funpark.

Wie war dein Trip nach Indien?
Ich war zusammen mit Lena Stoffel in der Region Kaschmir ganz im Norden Indiens an der Grenze zu Pakistan. Es war ein Film- und Phototrip nur für Mädels mit dem Ziel, die längsten Powderhänge der Region zu fahren. Es war eine wirklich unvergessliche Zeit: Wir waren zum Heliskiing im Himalaya, fütterten wilde Affen im Schnee, trafen dabei unzählbar viele Grenzsoldaten, wohnten auf einem Hausboot, stöberten durch die Märkte Delhis und lernten viele interessante Menschen kennen. (Link zu „A Journey to India“ von Felix Urbauer im Steckbrief, Anm. der Red.)

Aber Freeriden ist nur der eine Teil deines Winters. Erkläre mal, wie ein Slopestyle Contest abläuft.
Man fährt eine Linie mit mehreren Obstacles durch einen Funpark. Die Judges beurteilen dann deine Sprünge nach Schwierigkeit und Ausführung und vergeben Punkte. Wer letztendlich die meisten Punkte hat, kommt eine Runde weiter, bis sich schließlich die besten Fahrerrinnen im Finale messen.

Wie sieht deine Vorbereitung auf den Winter aus?
Ich mache das ganze Jahr über viel Sport und habe deswegen eine gute Grundfitness. Wenn der Winter vorbei ist, fallen mir sofort andere Sportarten ein, die ich gerne mache. Zum Beispiel Wandern und Biken. Zusätzlich absolviere ich ein Krafttraining an der Sportschule Puch in Fürstenfeldbruck. Dort bekomme ich einen Trainingsplan, der genau auf meine Bedürfnisse ausgelegt ist und aus einer Kombination von Kraft- und Konditionstraining besteht.

Und zusätzlich reitest du noch.
Gerade leider nicht mehr! Reiten war lange Zeit meine große Leidenschaft. Ich bin früher Turnier geritten und hatte mein eigenes Pferd. Leider ist der Sport äußerst zeitaufwändig, weil man sich auch viel um das Pferd kümmern muss. Deswegen reite ich zurzeit gar nicht mehr, überlege aber mir ein Fohlen zu kaufen, mit dem ich in zwei, drei Jahren wieder anfangen könnte.

Was sind denn deine Contest-Höhepunkte der kommenden Saison?
Auf alle Fälle wieder das Nine Queens Invitational im März in Serfaus. Und dann werde ich mit Sicherheit wieder mit Freundinnen einen längeren Trip für Foto- und Film unternehmen. Dabei werden wir allerdings nicht so weit wegfahren wie im letzten Winter, sondern in Europa bleiben.

Du bist jetzt seit einem halben Jahr im Team von NiceOne. Was sind deine Erfahrungen?
Das erste Mal bin ich über Andi Wittmann mit NiceOne in Kontakt gekommen. Am Anfang war ich war ziemlich skeptisch. Aber dann bin ich doch neugierig geworden, habe mich genau informiert und festgestellt, dass es genau das Richtige für mich ist, insbesondere in Kombination mit meinem Ausdauer-, Kraft- und Skitraining. Außerdem gefällt mir, dass NiceOne nicht auf eine Sportart fixiert ist. Ich finde es gut, dass bei NiceOne die Erfahrungen ganz unterschiedlicher Sportler in die Entwicklung der Produkte einfließen.

Steckbrief


Freeride Ski

Caja Schöpf

Alter
26

 

Wohnort
Ohlstadt / Bayern, Innsbruck / Tirol

 

Hausgebiete
Garmisch, Mayrhofen, Ehrwald, Hintertux

 

Lieblingstrick
Unnatural 3

 

Ausgleichsport
Biken, Laufen, Wandern und hoffentlich mal wieder Reiten

 

Aktuelle Ziele
Olympische Winterspiele 2014, Sotschi

 

Sponsoren
Fiat Freestyle Team, Peak Performance, Völkl, TSG Protection, Oakley Eyewear, Dakine, Dalbello, Marker Bindings, Contour, NiceOne

 

A Journey to India (Video by Felix Urbauer)

http://bit.ly/nKINpp

 

Facebook
http://on.fb.me/swEXXM

 

Blog
http://bit.ly/uBN0pF

 
 
 

Einkaufswagen

Keine Artikel im Warenkorb.

Zur Kasse gehen